Star Party with Science Express Biodiversity Special – Ratangarh

Yes, I was at a star party last weekend with Science Express Team

Science Communicators
Science Communicators

Were the feast being served was – Venus with Mercury, a bright Mars, and a rising Jupiter with its Four Galilean moons – Io, Europa, Ganymede, Callisto. Served with winter seasoning delicious Orion Nebulae, Pleiades (aka Seven Sisters), Hyades and Sirius – A true diamond in the sky.

The constellations that lit up the show at our star party were – Orion, Taurus, Auriga, Cassiopeia, Gemini, Pegasus, Perseus, Cygnus and Big dipper (which showed up at the horizon in early morning)

Ratangarh, a small township located in Churu district of Rajasthan state of India showcased a semi-medium clear sky with fog patches & hovering clouds.

The most spectacular celestial object that didn’t showed up (being shy) was Comet Lovejoy.

However, our joys knew no bounds as we rushed up to spot Venus and Mercury under same field-of-view (fov) that too with both eyes (using a skymaster Celestron binos) as they were setting in the west..and we were lucky to have clear weather on the west..which was nearly four times far better than the east side.

I found myself very lucky to be warmed up with science communicators of current phase and my old colleagues.

This particular star party shall always remain with me as a beautiful memory; hard to part with.

Thank you for reading:)

Keep riding!

Published by:

GreenRideBikers

The original purpose of this blog was promoting city cycling and popularizing urban green belt corridors, which it did for it's first one and a half year, since the year of it's launch - 2014. Now-a-days, that is, since the last two years, I haven't been city commuting on my bike, thanks to my city earning the world's most air polluted region title. And thanks to the redesigning of City roads, those are forked under construction since last six months, loosing a green cover of a whooping 9,100+ trees and the rising construction dust hazards. And lastly thanks to El nino of 2015 and El nina of 2016. I don't know if I have missed any other reason. The theme of the blog, hence, changed, into a bit of my own ramblings covering topics, such as - my travel blogging, Social issues in India, Climate change & biodiversity conservation.

Categories adventure, astronomy, nature, travelTags , , , , , , 5 Comments

5 thoughts on “Star Party with Science Express Biodiversity Special – Ratangarh”

  1. Hey, thanks for the like. I am a diehard stargazer with limited means, I mean, being a SAHM I just have my pocketful of sky to gaze at. My favourite being Orion and Sirius and the Ursa Major – Saptarshi. Pleased to meet you plz post pictures of stars that you capture in your next post. Happy star gazing. Sorry I couldn’t get your name :(. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rekha..happy to have came across you..I am sorry, couldn’t catch SAHM, what’s that? and yes, Orion’s nebulae, Pleiades, Ursa major, Sirius are my favourites too 😀 Yes, I have clicked some pictures of constellations and Jupiter recently, shall post them today:) And its true, gears are not important, a curious eye is all that makes the difference. Thanks for encouragement:) My name is Siddesh Deshmukh..Happy star gazing to you:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

