Astrophotography

Okay, Let me give out a disclaimer before you invest anytime into further reading this –

Disclaimer: I am not an astrophotographer

I took a DSLR out to click open sky which was showing me nothing except for few scattered stars of three constellations through naked eyes..and then I decided something to do with my DSLR, so I mounted it up on my Simpex 880 tripod (which I generally use for mounting My binoculars)

night

Okay, this is a low ISO 100, long exposure 30sec, 35mm Auto mode picture. After I took this, I opened it in Microsoft’s word paint to identify by joining the stars into constellations and named each object above 3 /4 magnitude.

Orion Nebulae, Pleiades and Crab Nebulae

Orion Nebulae, Pleiades and Crab Nebulae

Next I opened an 18mm wide angle shot at Jupiter with 30Sec explosure and was shocked to see more stars in the view than were actually present! All thanks to light pollution of Delhi NCR (which has also recently won the title of being the World’s most polluted City on Earth, where 2.5 PM are 16 times higher than safe health norm!)

The orange colour is dispersion of light by atmosphere due to Air pollution, one can minimize this by using LPS filters for DSLRs

The orange colour is dispersion of light by atmosphere due to Air pollution, one can minimize this by using LPS filters for DSLRs

This is perhaps yet another way of appreciating astronomy I think, and I am already loving it – Taking pictures of night sky and joining the dots..its fun, reminds me of my childhood days when we use to join numbers to solve a picture puzzle inside Kid’s magazine.

You may click here to find a little more about my astronomy stuffs.

Thank you for your time

Keep riding:)

3 comments

  1. bribikes

    That is awesome! I want to learn more constellations this summer and learn to tell the legends behind them. It would be so great to be able to look up into a starry sky and see stories and shapes everywhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

