Delhi-Haldwani-Nainital Part 2

(in continuation from part 1)

Okay, here is how –

I, along with my friend and her husband, his brother and cousin brother planned out a ride to Corbet falls and Corbet museum. We had two bikes and one scooty. Okay, I think I skipped something.

Mr. Arun Latwal came to pick me up at the station. He took me to his home. I was greeted by his mother and I was too nervous about the whole thing, as I was meeting everyone for first time.

But, I was wrong. They were nice to me and outspoken, they were very inviting and sounded more like peace than war.

I enjoyed, had a breakfast and an awesome lemonade that made got me refreshed.

I was too excited when I knew I was going to ride my friend’s scooty!!! All through the way.

Now, here is a little secret about that – I am not good with motorbikes. Though I have one at home. I am more like bicycle guy. I love riding green. I love rides that make me put my masculine power into, not the ones that run on their own.

But, as the offer was too tempting, perhaps because it was all for the prospect of unknown places and roads that I was about to explore.

We went to Corbett falls first. At the entrance, we were told (and to much of my disbelief) that the falls remain close from July to November.

I was the one who had recommended this place after reading a travel blog. A humble request to all bloggers, guys please share such infos when visiting places:p

Okay, we did a U-turn from Kaladhungi, to corbet museum. Now again, I was wrong, with some bloggers saying that you get to see actual stuffed-kills of Mr. Corbett in form of effigies, but no there was no tiger/leopard effigies, all of these are kept at the main museum, which is situated at the Jim Corbett national park.

However, we were able to see ancient objects in form of personal belongings of Mr. Corbett, most of them were brought India from Britain.

At the entrance of Corbet Musuem
At the entrance of Corbett Museum

It was fun. We did portfolio shoots.

From Corbett museum, we took the Kaladhungi way to reach Nainital.

It was a scenic route. Beautiful turns, and as we reached higher, the wind became cooler and the fun got multiplied.

On our way, we took a mini-detour into the Sal forest, it was magnificent, thick canopy of Sal trees laden by termite-hills as tall as me, and some even taller.

A Tick Hill
A Termite Hill

I learned, that these termite hills are made by termites using their saliva and mud. The cemented bonds are so strong that even rain fails to wash them out. Isn’t that marvellous!

It was here, that I got a chance to befriend with everyone and learn about them. I told everyone about my story from past trip, and how easy it was to get lost within the forest.

Then we started back to Nainital. I was the slowest of all. I made bikers hault several times. Partly because, I had kept my DSLR beneath the scooty sit, and the roads were new to me so any bumper could have taken me easily by surprise, spoiling my dslr, so I had to be careful, but I was not :p

We halted at Khurpataal, a small pond with scenic beauty.

Groupie
Groupie

Then, after spending some quality time there, we moved to G. B. Pant High-Altitude Zoo. We hurried our way there (of course after a mouthful of meal) as it closes by 4 pm. We reached few minutes ahead and managed to get our tickets.

7
Indian Spotted Eagle

I must mention. This zoo is like no other zoo in India. It is situated over hills, so walking inside zoo, is like climbing hills. All animals are nicely kept inside slanting plantations, and the ways inside zoo are paved such, that you get to see these animals no matter how they hide themselves. You get a bottom-up and top-bottom view, including the side-view along the climb. I think this is one of those few zoos, where you are 100% sure on spotting leopards, tigers well-within their natural habitats (within boundaries, of course)

After zoo, we had a tea, that rejuvenated us and we made our way back to the lake, for boating.

The boating @ Nainital
The boating @ Nainital

It was fun. The boat we hired was a non-paddle row-row type, and the hull was low, so we could touch the cold water of Nainital lake effortlessly.

Water was cold and soothing
The water was cold and soothing

We did a full-circle ride (which is offered as one of the two circles) either you get to see right or left side of lake in circle and it was fun.

After boating, it soon started getting dark, we started our way back. I was not too confident over riding at night. But I followed my friend’s bike and was able to reach back safe. Thanks to Arun bhai.

The trip ended, but the journey didn’t.

As I reached home, I was feed the most lavishing feast ever. Two types of sweets, five types of vegetables, two-types of dals and with yummy puris.. I got carried-away and had a wholesome time.

I was dropped back to the station from where I took my return train (ranikhet express – the great robbery train) I was little reluctant about boarding this train, and was thinking to join general over sleepers, but I guess I was tired to be awake another night, and so I hopped over my side-upper berth of sleepers, took God’s name and slept (only after seeing the same robber again in a different cloth) I smiled back to myself, turned my back, checked time, it was 12:45..and went into a deep sleep..ZZzzzzzz

Published by:

GreenRideBikers

The original purpose of this blog was promoting city cycling and popularizing urban green belt corridors, which it did for it's first one and a half year, since the year of it's launch - 2014. Now-a-days, that is, since the last two years, I haven't been city commuting on my bike, thanks to my city earning the world's most air polluted region title. And thanks to the redesigning of City roads, those are forked under construction since last six months, loosing a green cover of a whooping 9,100+ trees and the rising construction dust hazards. And lastly thanks to El nino of 2015 and El nina of 2016. I don't know if I have missed any other reason. The theme of the blog, hence, changed, into a bit of my own ramblings covering topics, such as - my travel blogging, Social issues in India, Climate change & biodiversity conservation.

Categories adventureTags , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Delhi-Haldwani-Nainital Part 2”

Leave a Reply

