Yeh ladka pagal hai

The Story

It’s about today morning. I was rushing in to timestamp on-time in the office. Just when I was greeted with an electrifying ‘Good morning sir!’ at the gate, I waved back a good morning in the same zeal that I had caught. Just as I was about to close the door at the blindspot, I overheard him say – ‘ Yeh sahab ache hai’

Impressed by self. Proding with pride. No less than a narcissist, I rallied my way through the corridor after laying my thump impressions in the most self impunitive way.

While crossing the marbled alley of my front office, I was struck with another conversation – ‘yeh ladka pagal hai’ 

By the time I reached washroom I was struck with this idea – perhaps the most brilliant and jubilant. I was laughing my gutts out knowing not about whom I was laughing at. Thats when it struck, and It struck like a bolt.

Post Story – The Philosophy

So it was this, within less than 15 secs I was from Yeh sahab ache hai to yeh ladka pagal hai.  I was reminded of Aesop’s tale – The Man, the Boy and the Donkey.

People judge. We judge. I Judge. It is an entire human and completely natural process. No opinions can be born out without our biases of mind. 

But the question is how true is the truth about these perceptions that we create to opine about others. How can we hold strong to our versions of judgement about others. 

The thought about transposing within 15 secs from Good to Bad and ugly is terrifying as hell. 

What is the truth then?

It’s us – the human mind. A human mind is susceptible. To quote Rene Descartes – Cogito ergo sum, which is latin for – I think, therefore I am.

To quote from the famous Sufi poem written by Hazrat Shah Niyaz, the 17th century poet, which reads – Mann Na Manam, Na Mann Manam, and which means –  I am not, Yet, I am.

We all have perceptions, and people see and believe of us what we see and believe of us, thanks to the susceptibility of human mind. 

When the good book read – God made us alike in his image, little did we thought that it could also mean, God made our minds susceptible? 

And believe it or not, the susceptibility of human mind is a blessing in disguise. 

Having said all that, where does it leave me?

The best way to find is to spend a day without judging others of what we think of them about who they are, and rather focus what we think of who we are. 

Quieting the mind ain’t easy. It’s almost inherited, deep into our bones; and we are bound to judge, as we have been a part of this culture several thousands of years old. It’s in our genes.

However, we have the right to choose or not to choose. If we choose not to judge others by either their good or bad qualities, we open ourselves a doorway to embrace the larger picture – the truth. 

Its only when we quieten our minds, do we really see our true reflections. 

Like in the movie – The Karate Kid, it was shown – A calm mind is like a still water, and only if the water is still we can see our reflections, we can realize our potentials.

Published by:

GreenRideBikers

The original purpose of this blog was promoting city cycling and popularizing urban green belt corridors, which it did for it's first one and a half year, since the year of it's launch - 2014. Now-a-days, that is, since the last two years, I haven't been city commuting on my bike, thanks to my city earning the world's most air polluted region title. And thanks to the redesigning of City roads, those are forked under construction since last six months, loosing a green cover of a whooping 9,100+ trees and the rising construction dust hazards. And lastly thanks to El nino of 2015 and El nina of 2016. I don't know if I have missed any other reason. The theme of the blog, hence, changed, into a bit of my own ramblings covering topics, such as - my travel blogging, Social issues in India, Climate change & biodiversity conservation.

Categories creativity, life, thoughtsTags , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

